Published On: Mon, Oct 22nd, 2018

Know the List of Architecture Entrance Exams and Their Eligibility

Image result for university student

In order to provide the students with the chance of getting admitted to the various engineering institutes offering courses in architecture, more than a few architecture entrance examinations are conducted in India. A majority of these B.Arch. entrance exams are held at the national level while some are held at the state level only. Prior to applying for these tests, irrespective of whether they are of the national level or the state level exams, you need to gather sufficient knowledge about the tentative dates, exam patterns, and the eligibility criteria for applying for them. Here we are going to discuss the details of the major architecture entrance exams like NATA, JEE Main, and MAH-AR-CAT.

The general idea about the architecture entrance exams

Professions in structural design offer young experts a life of innovation and individual progress. Architecture is the rapidly developing occupation at the present time and it has been one of the most excellent career opportunities since the last few years. Learners who are fond of designing aspire to get admitted to the top architecture colleges. In order to gain admission in the best architecture colleges, the aspirants are required to have to appear in the popular B.Arch. Entrance Exams first.

Details of the exam


  • The Council of Architecture conducts the National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) in the national level for admission to 5-year B.Arch. Degree Course at all acknowledged institutes in all over India
  • The scores obtained in NATA are used by admittance authorities of diverse Government, Government Aided & Unaided colleges/institutions of Architecture
  • The examination evaluates the drawing and observation aptitudes, the idea of proportion, artistic sensitivity and critical thinking capacity
  • The examination is organized in two parts; a paper-based drawing test held for two hours and a computer-based online test to assess the aesthetic sensitivity
  • There are more or less 250 colleges that provide admission for architecture students to 18,000 seats in all over India based on NATA marks
  • Eligibility for aspirants applying for NATA :
    • Any individual having successfully completed SSC (Std X) or corresponding exam can appear for NATA, nonetheless, applicants having 50% marks in 10+2 or corresponding exam with mathematics as one of the subjects, only are regarded as being qualified for admission to B.Arch. Course
  • NATA can be attempted as many numbers of times as preferred by the applicant

JEE Main 2019 – Paper 2 (B.Arch. / B.Planning):

  • Aspirants need to attempt JEE (formerly AIEEE) Paper 2 for entrance to B.Arch. or B.Plan. programs
  • Paper 2 of JEEis composed of Mathematics, Aptitude Test and Drawing for B. Architecture and B. Planning in the offline mode
  • There are more or less 17 NITs that provide admission for the architecture students to 1,050 seats in all over India based on the marks obtained in JEE.
  • The Aptitude Test is intended to assess the applicants’ observation, imagination, perception, inventiveness and architectural understanding
  • There is a negative marking system of 0.25 marks for each wrong answer only for the objective type questions; in case an examinee does not attempt a question, no marks will be deducted
  • The minimum prerequisite for appearing for JEE Paper 2 exam is successfully completed or appearing for 10+2 (Class XII) or corresponding examination with minimum 50% cumulative marks with Mathematics as a compulsory subject

MAH-AR-CAT (Common Entrance Test):

  • Aspirants are required to attempt MAH-AR-CAT (Common Entrance Test) for getting admitted to the 5-year degree course in Architecture in the Government Aided Colleges or Unaided Colleges who have provided approval for CAT and CAP (Centralized Admission Process)
  • The MAH-AR-CAT-2019 test will contain one general question paper of utmost 200 marks in the subjects of Aesthetic Sensitivity and Drawing to verify the ability of the applicants for the architecture degree courses
  • There are more or less 8 colleges that provide admission for the architecture students to 427 seats all over the state of Maharashtra according to MAH-AR-CAT marks.
  • The questions will be presented only in English and not in any other regional language
  • Around 5,300 students appear for the exam; the exam is held for 3 hours
  • The minimum prerequisite for appearing for MAH-AR-CAT is successfully completed or appearing for 10+2 (Class XII) or corresponding examination with minimum 50% cumulative marks (45% for OBC, SC, ST & PH category) with Mathematics as a compulsory subject
  • The marks for MAH-AR-CAT will be taken into consideration for the admission procedure of the recent academic year only; there is no stipulation to carry ahead the results
  • Aspirants must achieve minimum 40% or 80 marks (35% or 70 marks for OBC, SC, ST and PH Category) in the MAH-AR-CAT to be considered as being eligible to take part in the Centralized Admission Process (CAP)
  • There are different eligibility criteria for Foreign Nationals or NRIs, J&K Migrants, GoI candidates, family members of defense employees etc. Please look up particulars in the respective information sheets

In addition to these exams, there are other architecture entrance exams like AMU B.Arch. entrance exam organized by Aligarh Muslim University, KCET for Architecture conducted by the KEA or the Karnataka Examinations Authority, and so on. All the other main architecture examinations have been substituted by the NATA or JEE Paper 2.